PDA

View Full Version : love, sex... what makes them different?

rjpaton@quixnet
07-31-2001, 01:59 AM
I'm new to the internet and even newer to this site. But talking about sex is nothing new to me. Something that comes up often among my male acquaintances is the ancient question,''What is love really?'' Any thoughts folks?

Fang
07-31-2001, 08:09 AM
Love is different things to different people at different times. There is no all encompassing definition since all people feel differently.

Love in the beginning can be an explosion of emotion, swelling and making your head swim. Giddiness is a good way of describing it.

Love after the newness wears off can be comfortable, like a soft old sweater. It makes you feel good. It provides warmth, stability and security.

Love after many years can almost be buried in the subconscious. If you've felt love for a person for a long time, the thought and feeling is ever-present, but nothing you need dwell on. It's there and it's nourishing all the time. If it unexpectedly leaves it can be like removing a feeding tube from an ill person. That's why so many older people pass on quickly after losing a loved one -- the nourishment of their love that was so depended upon has gone.

How does sex fit in to all this? Sex is integral to a good long lasting loving relationship. It changes of course. Sometimes for the better and sometimes for the worse. Sometimes sex doesn't enter at all into a loving relationship. Sometimes relationships don't enter into sex. That's the key. Knowing the difference between love and sex.

You can have one, both or the other, just know which you have!

Oldfart
08-15-2001, 05:01 PM
Love is a brain thing, often fanned by emotions and obsessions.
It may be good or bad, depending on who or what you love and
whether your love is reciprocated.

Sex is a body thing.

When the two get together, it can be wonderful.

Scarecrow
02-18-2005, 06:53 PM
bump

cherrypie7788
02-18-2005, 07:06 PM